THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The election for the chairman post for in city corporation will be held at 2.30 pm on Friday.
The LDF candidate submitted his nomination for the election on Monday. BJP is expected to field a candidate and will submit the nomination on Friday. Candidates can submit nomination till 2 pm on Friday. UDF leaders said that they may not field a candidate to dispel any rumours of a collusion with BJP.

Stage was set for a rejig in the town planning committee with the chairman of town planning standing committee Satheesh Kumar tendering his resignation in July. The resignation was part of a pact between Congress(S) and Kerala Congress. It was agreed that SatheeshKumar of Kerala Congress would make way for Palayam Rajan, ward councillor, Nanthencode after two and a half years of the council.

At present, the 12-member town planning committee has 4 BJP members, 2 UDF members and 6 LDF members. Palayam Rajan is most likely to be elected as the new chairman and if elected this would be his third tenure as the chairman of standing committee. He had been head of town planning standing committee and welfare standing committees in previous tenures.
Get latest news & live updates on the go on your pc with . Download The for your device. in English and other languages.